greece lithuania lithuania france france belgium germany austria iceland uk uk

Pilot 1

Cross border authentication for
electronic services



The scope of the pilot is to enable existing Member State online public services to be accessed securely by citizens from other Member States. To access these services citizens will use their own nationally issued electronic identity credentials.

Cross-Border Authentication for Electronic Services

The existing services that that will be connected to the interoperability layer will be the national citizen portals from Austria, Estonia, Germany and Portugal. The Belgian Limosa service will also be connected.

The electronic identity credentials that will be part of the pilot will be the ID Cards from Austria, Estonia, Portugal and Belgium. The Icelandic debit card and Estonian mobile eID will also be used.

Example Use Case

A German resident is planning to work in Belgium. The resident needs to go through the compliance activity that is required by Belgium. This is an online service provided by Belgium’s Limosa portal. The German resident is able to assert their identity electronically, using their ID Card, in order to register with the Limosa service. The resident is in control of their data and transfers it to the Limosa service. The Limosa service can now place a higher level of trust in the identity data of the user and hence provide a better and more efficient service.

Data protection, security and the customers privacy are all of paramount importance in the pilot.

Goals of the Pilot

The goal of the pilot is to enhance these production services in order to test and demonstrate that cross-border electronic services can operate in a number of European Member States. The pilot will:

  • Test that it is possible to deliver technical interoperability between the electronic services in one Member State with the eID infrastructures in other Member States via the interoperability layer provided by STORK. The operation of the pilot will provide feedback to the common specifications.
  • Demonstrate that the common specifications are sufficiently flexible and scalable for the EU interoperability layer to accommodate a range of national services.
  • Test and implement the trust framework by operating services requiring different authentication levels.
  • Test that it is possible for citizens to use a variety of credentials to access cross border services.
  • Assess ease of use and take-up of cross-border e-ID services.
STORK Integrated Services
Stork Stork Stork
Stork Stork
Feedback Form

Further information:
STORK Website
e-mail: [email protected]

At a Glance

STORK establishes a European eID Interoperability Platform that will enable citizens to use their national electronic identities in any Member State for public eGovernment services. The project is implemented by a consortium of 32 partners, including 18 EU Member and Associated States, companies and organizations from the private, academic and civil society sectors. STORK is a co-funded European Commission Large Scale Pilot under the Competitiveness and Innovation Programme, the duration is from June 2008 to May 2011.

STORK Project Total Cost: €20M (with 50% of EU funding)

Cross-border authentication for electronic services example of use:

A resident in Austria wants to interact with online public services in Portugal. The Austrian resident can assert their identity electronically to the Portuguese Citizen Portal by using their nationally issued service card from Austria. The Portuguese Citizen Portal can then provide online services based on a high degree of trust in the identity of the user.

Pilot coordinator
Federal Office for Information Security and T-Systems International GmbH, Germany

Member State Partners:
Austria, Belgium, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Lithuania, Iceland and Portugal.

Programme: ICT Policy Support Programme under the Competitiveness and Innovation Framework Programme (CIP)


The pilot consists of the partners listed below. They are responsible for enhancing their national services and connecting them to the interoperability layer in their Member State.

Austria - Bundeskanzleramt der Republik Österreich
Belgium – Service Public Federal Technologie De L'Information et de la Communication, Banque Carrefour de la Securité Sociale
Estonia – Estonian Informatics Center
Finland – Ministry of Finance
France - L'Agence Nationale des Titres Sécurisés
Greece – Ministry of Interior, Decentralisation and eGovernment
Iceland – Ministry of Finance
Germany – Bundesamt Fuer Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik, T-Systems
Lithuania – Ministry of Interior
Portugal – Agência para a Modernização Administrativa

User Groups

The user groups for the pilot are the citizens of Austria, Belgium, Estonia, France, Finland, Germany, Greece, Lithuania, Iceland and Portugal who have national eID credentials.

After the pilot went live, specific pilot testing took place requesting that employees from public administrations use the services with their own eID credentials. Formal feedback has been requested. Security and identity management experts have also been requested to use the services and provide feedback.

The Belgian Limosa service has specific users who are the non Belgian citizens who will be working in Belgium. These citizens could be requested to use the cross border service.

Germany had provided some test eID cards before the new identity card has been rolled out. Once the needed access certificates have been issued to the partners, also normal citizens will be able to use their new eID. France will also enable national citizens to use the services once the eID has been rolled out.


The pilot provides an environment that demonstrates how an eID card issued in one Member State can be used to access an online service in another Member State.

The services are tested with real users and feedback will be provided to the pilot which will feed into the maintenance of the common specifications of STORK.

The running of the pilots will demonstrate to Member State administrations and to citizens: